7mm RUM

Mikeeee

Inactive
I have a Remington 700 BDL LH in 7mm RUM. Ammo is getting more and more difficult to find so I am looking at making a change. I currently use this gun for deer hunting. Usually taking between 100yd and 400yd shots out in the short grass prairie of western OK.

As a leftie, finding a LH rifle is a monumental pain in the a$$ - ideally I'd like to hang on to this one. Is there a way to go about converting this rifle to a more available round, say a .300 RUM (or any other round recommendation, for that matter)? I'm a rookie in this category so please forgive my ignorance when it inevitably shows :confused:.

Thanks for your input!

Mike H.

SHR970 Thanks for the response. I guess that's my question - my knowledge base isn't wide enough to know what my options really are. Though as much as I'd like to learn, I don't shoot enough to justify buying the equipment to reload.

I figured .300 RUM would be easiest because the cartridge is identical and the existing action would work. But if it were possible to do 7MM Rem Mag, I would prefer that.

After rebarreling, would a 7mm RM feed with the bolt face and magnum action of the 7mm RUM? Seems like the magazine would need to be a bit shorter too?

Mike

I looked up the base dimensions of the Rums and 7RM both are .534. The Rums are based on the 404 Jeffery which is rebated rim cartridge.the mag length shouldn't be factor and will allow you to seat bullets out further, closer to the lands if desired. I have loaded 300WBY longer than mag length, but had to single load cartridges, was playing with 240gr VLD's.

If you reload you can neck down 300RUM to 7mm. The relaoding section of this site will offer you more advise on necking down this cartridge. I have been reloading centerfire magnums since 1976, but have never had to actually neck down brass, but have read in several reloading manuals that it is doable.