700 PSS quick question

Nomad76

Inactive
I am new to the 700 world and am looking for some advise so please bear with me. I just got my Remington 700 PSS two days ago. I want to adjust the factory trigger. My question is if I remove the action and trigger from the stock will it mess up the bedding? Thanks for any help!

No it won't mess up the bedding, but you should get a torque wrench that measures in IN/LBS, and torque the action screws to 65 IN/LBS (NOT FT/LBS!) every time you replace the stock. Do not fully tighten one screw then the other, do them incramentally, fully tightening the rearmost screw first.

Call me anal retentive, but consistency equals accuracy!

BTW there is no glass bedding in a factory PSS, it just has an aluminum bedding block with pillars.

------------------
Cry "Havoc!" and let slip the dogs of war.

[This message has been edited by Rex Feral (edited April 23, 2000).]

Enlighten me Walter, the HS Precision stock has a milled aluminum block that supports the action, and steel pillars the action mounting bolts go through. How is that oxymoronic? I am dying to learn more about precision rifle from a Mini-14 shooter!
biggrin.gif

------------------

I get a lot of ribbing about my posts on several boards about my wonderful experiences with the Ruger Boat Anchor.

I do happen own and enjoy shooting a Rem. VS with an H-S Precision Stock. Have also worked on a bunch of 700 triggers in friends' VS's and Sendaros.

Never saw either with pillar bedding. They've all had aluminum bedding blocks that are drilled, of course, for the action screws. I broke down and bought an inch/lb. torque wrench, but can't really tell any difference in accuracy than when I just tightened by feel. (But then I don't claim to be anal, either.)

For a simple explanation of all this, look up the word "pillar" in your h.s. dictionary.