686 mountain pistol ?

Gunzo

I read about this model approx. 2 years ago & have yet to lay eyes on one. Been to a dozen or so big gun shows, watched the gunlist, web, etc. Were they never cataloged, or discontinued or what? If I find one what can I expect to pay? So far I've had to settle for a new M66 4" (which wasn't a bad thing) but I still think about the 7 holes and the slim barrel!

P.S. I'm new to this sight, so a big HELLO to all, and am glad to see that so many still are as fond of revolvers as myself!

i've never seen one in person either, people say they handle like a 66, sounds like a nice gun, wouldn't mind having one but I think i'm going to get one of it's bigger brothers instead.

I believe that the gun was only produced once and distributed to stocking dealers only in very limited numbers. Only products comparable is the new Scandium Mountain lite, which also has the seven shot cylinder and tapered Mt barrel. Or, if you have your heart set on a stainless, Cylinder & Slide makes the conversion. Calls the gun "Master Blaster". It was based on an existing Mt gun, but they will make one from any seven shot L frame.

http://cylinder-slide.com/Masterblaster.htm

http://www.smith-wesson.com/misc/airlitesc/m386.html

Gabriel

Hi Gunzo. I share your interest in this revolver. I saw three chambered in .44 Mag, .45 LC, and I think .45 ACP at a gunshow in Springfield, IL a week or two ago. I also found a few at: http://www.gunsamerica.com under Pistols and "&" revolvers.

Take Care,
Rhyno :p

My best friend has one chambered in .357 mag.

Love that pistol and am trying to get gim to sell it to me. A real sweet shooter and I like the idea of 7 shots instead of 6.

I had one for a short time. A seven shot, L-frame, taper barrel, Mountain Gun. It shot very accurately and had a good trigger as it came from the factory.