590A1 or 870, tricked out equally, which do you prefer?

JERRYS.

simple enough.... the 870 or 590a1, both with the same bbl length, butt stock/grip as you like, fore stock as you like sights as you like.... no lights or lasers etc.....

which do you prefer and why?

Last edited:
Id vote 590. I like the safety and action bar release placement better then the Remy

Cant go wrong either way though. Which ever YOU like better. Then train with that one

I really like the 870 design myself. Fits me best and doesnt have that rattle like the mossberg. Although i have little experience with newer express models. I have used ones from the 80s and they are good shotguns. Not to mention the ease of getting parts and accessories for the 870.

Another vote for 870. Love my Police Magnum. I installed a larger safety on it, easiest thing in the world to disengage, even while indexing my trigger finger over the guard. Any other location just doesn't make sense to me.

the 590A1 has a much better extractor then the old 870. if you experience any malfunctions or do any slug select, the 590 will out shine the 870. but my vote is a M2 or M4 benelli. if you want a pump get the Tactical Nova Pump, it's better than the 870 or Mossbeeg. reason number one is the slug select button. for those that train with a shotgun that option alone is worth it.

Easy question to answer. :o 30 years ago, a gun shop in Austin, Tx. had a Wingmaster on sale. Since then, I've added: another complete WM., 5 or 6 barrels, 4 or 5 butt stocks, and has many forearm stocks. :confused: At first I used the 870 in side matches after the regular USPSA matches were over. These side matches were strictly speed events with steel plates, and pepper poppers. After I moved to California my eyes started to need reading glasses, I started shooting Skeet, (had to get a different barrel). With some Duct Tape and some card board I started shooting Trap (another barrel & butt stock).:D