5.56 in a. 223?

MagDiddy

Some hand loaders have told me that I can shoot 5.56 in my . 223. Most info I see says not to. I don't want to damage my rifle or void its' warranty. Any opinions are appreciated.

The best way to preserve your warranty is to use the product in accord with its intended usage as published by the manufacturer.

Pretty simple, really...

Bayou

Just remember it's a big argument to ask this question. For simplicity just shoot the cartridge your rifle is stamped for.

Seems like the correct way to proceed. That's what I figured and what most experts say. No need for 5.56 anyway. Thanks.

Many of us used both interchangeably, without incident, LONG before the internet was invented and the self proclaimed experts were able to tell us it was wrong. Probably a loaded question to ask on here.

Check the owners manual and follow their advice.

I've been shooting them interchangeably for about 40 years with no issues. Realistically the worst thing likely to happen is a semi-auto rifle set up for 223 might not cycle reliably with full power 5.56. The only semi-auto 223 rifle I'm aware of are the older Ruger Mini-14's. All modern semi-autos are set up for both 5.56 and 223. In a bolt rifle you'll never have any problems.

The fact that 223/5.56 and 308/7.62 use different military and commercial designations, and slightly different power levels causes a lot of confusion. The reality is that ALL cartridges are loaded to different power levels. The 30-06 is a perfect example but to a lesser extent this is true with every cartridge made.

There are at least 5 different power levels 30-06 can be loaded to. WW-1 loads pushed a 150 gr bullet to 2700 fps. By WW-2 that was up to 2800 fps. Modern factory loads are now typically 2900 fps with some as much as 3000 fps. Some handloads will safely reach 3100 fps. But not all of those loads will work in every rifle.