.45acp aluminum cases

caligula

A buddy of mine just gave me a can of used .45 ACP brass. The mix included a big batch of aluminum shells. I have no experience with aluminum cases and I thought it a good idea to seek out experienced insights. Anyone out there have any savvy on this?

Separate out the aluminum and discard.
Regular brass (yellow) or Nickel plated should be reloadable. Some people will separate out small primer 45 ACP, Blazer (brass), USA, Aguila, etc and save those for hard times.

Aluminum shells

Thanks, Guys! Not the first time I almost shot myself in the foot with a bad idea. Will discard and pray for better times -

Make a few drawer pulls and recycle the rest. Most Al cases are Berdan primed anyway and Al is not elastic like brass. Doesn't resize properly.
Mind you, Al cased CCI Blazer ammo isn't horrible stuff. Tried some Blazer .38 Special long ago(before there was such a thing as Blazer Brass). Wasn't as accurate out my revolver(my old Smith 19, I think.) but every round went bang.

Neither aluminum nor steel should be reloaded. It can be and folks have done it, but often to their regret. On another board a fellow showed close-up photos of a ring of little pits around the chamber of his 45 Auto 1911 barrel. They turned out to be gas cut pits, same as you see on some old rifle bolt faces where they are caused by leaky primers. In this case, though, the steel cases he had been reloading had developed small cracks just forward of the head that had let the little gas jets out to blast the pits into the chamber. Aluminum will do the same thing. Neither is as malleable as brass, and resizing fatiques them quickly, causing the cracks.

Just for the hell of it I once loaded some aluminum case boxer primed .38 Spl. just once, it worked fine. hdbiker