454 and 460 65K load data

1972RedNeck

I am trying to find max loads for 454 Casull and 460 S&W. Specifically for 240 and 300 gr Hornady XTP mag bullets and H110 powder. All I can find is up to about 56K PSI. I want loads pushing up to 65K PSI.

Where can I find this data? Hornady and Hodgon have been no help. I am rather new to reloading and have no idea how to "work up" a load over published data and no courage to go over published data.

Any suggestions were to find full pressure data?

Published data now adays is incredibly conservative, thanks to a litigious society and anxious lawyers.

Max loads are going to be gun and component specific, so learn pressure signs, and know your primers

Sent from my SM-S918U using Tapatalk

The only way you are going to get to MAX 65K Loads is to beg , borrow , rent/lease or buy pressure testing equipment and start pushing that envelope ... I think Dick Casull had to do this when he was developing the 454 Casull .
I don't have a simple answer for you and you might search out a pressure testing lab and see if they would/could test pressures of your ++P++ Loads .
You could do it like Elmer Keith did when working up the new 44 Magnum ...
read about his experiments in his book "Sixguns" ... very interesting !
Gary

Elmer was originally looking for a .45 Magnum, but went to the .44 bore due to the limitations of the guns he had to work with.

If Hodgdon data doesn’t go to 65k - 5%, I would call them and ask why. Pistol powders are quite temperature sensitive. That may be why.

I wouldn’t just load it hotter. I suspect there is a good reason not to load revolvers to 65k!

What primers are you using?

There is some statistical massaging done for SAAMI compliance.
Apparently the manufacturers could not increase the loads to the MAP without one of the other figures of merit being exceeded.

Buffalo Bore is noted for crowding the maximum and even they say: