.380 round and human flesh (another question)

MusclesMcGee

Sorry for creating another thread, but as I am new to handguns, this is something I am seriously concerned about. I am always freaked when I load a magazine, that somehow (finger nail maybe ?) I will hit the primer, or apply to much pressure to a bullet and it will go off in my hand. Can this happen ? How sensitive are bullets and what can I do to avoid this ? Sometimes when I'm loading a magazine, especially a Glock, I have to apply a lot of pressure to get the last few rounds in, should I be concerned ?

Relax. It's not that easy to detonate a primer, it takes a good sharp strike directly to the primer. You couldn't set one off with your bare hands if you tried (but please don't).

When loading/handling firearms, it's a real good idea to be sure that the barrel is never pointed at anything you want to keep (like your foot, hands, girlfriend, strangers, your dog, etc.). You're probably more likely to have an ND when you're actually loading a round in the chamber (or unloading) than any other time.

It's good that you're concerned about your safety. Never get careless, no matter how much and long you handle firearms.

Since we're talking about the sensitivity/stability of ammunition...

I've always wondered about keeping a loaded firearm and/or ammunition in a closed car on a hot, sunny day. I've seen thermometers in such cars hit 140-150 degrees, no problem. I'm pretty sure that the ammunition is inert enough to not have any problem, but I'm not entirely sure. Can anyone set my mind at ease here?

Thanks!

[This message has been edited by BAB (edited November 17, 1999).]

Muscles,

Like double D said, relax. A primer is a whole lot harder to set off than most people realize. Setting one off with my fingernail would be the least of my worries.

BAB,

I doubt heat from the sun will set a primer off; but it will be interesting to hear some others views on it.

------------------