.38 Special Loads

marsbars

I just got myself a used S&W model 10-6 and was interested in some sugestions for a self defense load. I am not sure if it is able to shoot +P loads yet as I am waiting for a reply from S&W. I am new to revolvers as this is my first. :D
But just after getting to know its operation I am now hooked. I will get to shoot it at the range this weekend. I am already asking myself why didn't I get one earlier.
Thanks for any info on brands, and weights.

If it's a newer Model 10, it is +p rated. The older ones will not. Some say it is safe to feed the older ones +p for occasional defense, but not a steady diet. I'd use standard pressure if I wasn't sure. Federal Hydroshok is a good place to start. :)

I dont know what happened to rest of this thread it was very informative, but if it is a heavy barrel model 10, I would say go ahead and fire +P. It can withstand AT LEAST a limited diet of +P. Model 10's with the heavy barrels are super strong for 38's.

Last edited:
Well I got a chance to fire the little piece and I am impressed. It worked wonderfully. I didn't run any +P but I did shoot a few Hydra Shocks through it and it functioned fine. I did notice that the ejector rod would loosen up a little and the cylinder would bind when I wanted to eject the spent brass. Is there a way to tighten it up enough to stay put or is something like loctite warrented?