375 H&H Magnum

Dan Morgan

Inactive
I'm new to a Ruger #1 in 375 H&H Mag, I've read some remarks about finding 270 gr. soft point factory ammo and the 300 gr. solid factory ammo that will hit to the same point of aim, within hunting requirements of course, not going long range with this thing.
The rifle has the factory open sights and I have a Leupold 1.5-4 scope as well.

Looking to hear from anyone who has had experience with this.

I certainly like mine with open sights. It's brushy here in Pacific NW, so 100 yards is pushing it for game. No issues with POI here, but with open sights hard to know if me or the ballistics.

Different weight bullets usually have different points of impact. With some guns the points are close together with others not so much. Right, left, up down its normal for a gun to put a different load in a different spot.

Now, at closer ranges, and for practical purposes, a difference of an inch or even two on a big game rifle at the expected range is not very significant.

The thing about the .375H&H is that with certain bullet weights & speeds it approximates the trajectory of the .30-06. The 235gr load (not a factory offering) roughly matches the 150gr .30-06, the 270 matches the 180gr 06, and the 300gr is closer to the 220gr 06. (not identical, but very similar).

There is a guy on one of my other forums who just put up 5 boxes of Federal Power Shok 300gr for sale. He's asking $35/box plus shipping. If you are interested, shoot me an IM with your contact info and I'll pass that along to him.

I've had a lot of experience with 375HH. Sako, Ruger 1 , Win 70, Rem 700.
Used Win 270 PP to hunt. Guns were sighted with 3x/ dead on at 100yds.
Had 300 solids that I got cheap, at 100yds very little difference. Then I
started loading Speer 235gr/ 73.5gr IMR 3031/ LRMP/ at 2825fps. Less
recoil and all the bullet needed to kill moose & bear. Very accurate load
out of all 4 rifles. Left to right: 300fp. 270pp. 235 Speer