338 Lapua question

majog

Inactive
I am reloading for my Savage 338 Lapua bolt action rifle. It cycles new brass just fine. My reloads seat and extract fine if not fired but after firing they swell in the chamber and I have to knock them out with a solid cleaning rod or wooden dowel.

I trim the cases to exact spec's in my RCBS reloading manual and full size each round. I seat the bullet to RCBS spec's and overall the shell micro's out to almost exactly the same as my factory round.

I am using Retumbo powder but have tried H100. I have usually load to about the middle of the spec'd powder range but have tried both a slightly hot load and a very light load. In each case the round still stays wedged in the chamber and won't extract.

I have been loading for 20 years and never run into anything like this. Any thoughts from anyone?:confused:

The first thing that I would do is try a different powder.

If that doesn't fix the problem, I would have a competent gunsmith make a chamber cast and check the dimentions of the chamber.

That is either a high pressure sign or caused by a very rough chamber with lots of toolmarks. Occasionally you hear of a chamber that a wobbling tool put a reverse taper neck into that can also grab a case.

I assume when you say a "light" load, you mean the lowest load listed in the published data. That's where one should always start. I've twice run into guns for which that starting load was already the particular gun's maximum, usually because of a tight bore. Once in a while, it's because of using a brand of brass with less capacity than the brand the load was developed with. I would try using the same brand case and primer as your data lists, if you haven't already.