.308 vs. 7.62 x 39 (or others?)

JJR

Hello, I have little experience with rifles other than AR-15's and .22's so please forgive me if my questions sound ignorant.

I've decided to purchase an inexpensive bolt action rifle & scope for long-range (long-ish) target-plinking. I would like a caliber with a little more "oomph" than my .223 AR's. My main criteria in deciding on which caliber is the availability of affordable "bulk" ammo. I would prefer a .30-06, but ammo just costs too darn much for the amount I like to shoot. I don't hunt anything larger that coyote’s or rabbits, but I may give in and go deer hunting with my friends some day. It would also be nice to have something powerful enough to act as a makeshift long-range defense weapon when the Martians attack ;).

I've narrowed it down to 7.62x39 or .308 based only on ammo price (.30-06 costs twice as much as .308 which is twice as much as 7.62). What are the inherent differences between the two as far as power, distance, accuracy, etc.? Are either of these acceptable calibers for hunting Idaho White-Tail deer? Should I just endure the cost of ammo, shoot less and get the .30-06? Any other suggestions?

Synthetic stock Remington 700's and Ruger 77's sell for $300 at my local gun shop. These seem to be the best new rifles I've found for the price. I prefer the 700 as it has iron sights, but the Ruger looks to be sturdier. Any thoughts on either of these?

Any advice, suggestions or criticisms would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

For a discussion on the strengths and weaknesses of various designs, dig up April 13's Win M70 v. Rem 700 thread started by Spencer Stewart.

On the issue of caliber, I'd go for .308. Use enough gun.

------------------
Vigilantibus et non dormientibus jura subveniunt