.308 ok for small female

kamakazi_kid

Inactive
my girlfriend has decided she wants to start hunting after seeing how exited I get every season and how much fun i have.she likes going out in the bush with me and doesn't mind dead animals anymore.she is small about 5'8 and 120lbs.she is honestly pretty weak and a very"girly"girl who I can't see handling recoil to well.I might buy her a new gun but I have a remington woodsmaster 742 .308 its a semi and I don't think it kicks hard but recoil has never bothered me with the guns I have owned.everyone who has shot my finnlight .300 wsm thinks it kicks hard but I don't notice it very much and have very little flinch shooting it so I don't know how good my gudgment would be with kick.anyhow would this .308 be to big for her?I don't want to do this wrong and have her hate guns.

I'd just knock her over the head and drag her back to the cave.

If I were in your shoes I'd use in the range of the .243 to 7mm-08. If the stock fits well and has a good recoil pad then she may be fine with the .308. Take her to the range and find out. (They also sell mucury recoil dampners.)

my wife is not a big gun fan, but she loves to shoot my 7mm-08. a .308 has a little more recoil, but i do not think you can feel it on the shoulder. i think it is only 2-3 ft-lbs more than a 7mm-08. a good recoil pad on a .308 should be ok.

Let her try the .308. Betcha she handles the recoil just fine. One of the best M60 Gunners I trained was a female who probably weighed 100 pounds soaking wet and was about 5 foot tall. She loved to shoot that MG and outshot all the guys..lol

the female of our species can handle a lot more pain than we manly men think they can. they squeeze out 10 lb parasites from their bodies, we don't do that (typically :D ).

recoil is a mental thing, if you cloud her head with thoughts of 'its gonna hurt like crazy' then the mind will make it hurt.