.30-.30 lever action

RHC

I'm headed for a gun show today and I'm interested in maybe picking up something in the Winchester 1894 class in .30-.30.
What should I look for (and look out for?)
What about pistol-caliber lever actions? I've never had a rifle in those calibers.
Do you give up a lot of power?

------------------
"...where the wind comes sweeping down the plains..."

RHC, I'll admit that I'm no expert on the subject, but do have my opinion. The .30-.30 is a fine versatile round and is fairly inexpensive. You'll likely love it forever.
My own personal favorite is the Marlin .357, but the power isn't there like the .30-.30. That's why I soon plan to biggie-size to the .45-70. (I have seen .45-70 pistols, just in case that's a consideration for you). ;)

The loss of "power" depends on the range you are firing. The larger psitol calibers (.44 mag./.45LC) arguably provide greater power out to 100 yards. Opinions on which lever gun is better varies. In .30-30 it is a wash between Marlin and Winchester. However in the pistol calibers I prefer the Marlin. The shorter action is just more smooth.

------------------
Gunslinger

We live in a time in which attitudes and deeds once respected as courageous and honorable are now scorned as being antiquated and subversive.

The age-old question: "Whatcha gonna do with it?"

For deer-hunting, the .30-30 is better. The .44 Mag or .45 Colt will work for deer, but your range is limited for a sure, clean kill.

For general fun, plinking and such, the pistol cartridges are better--particularly if you reload. More useful for home defense, for that matter.

Aw, shucks, buy one of each!

:), Art

Presonal preference-