30-06 or 300 Win Mag?

Erik

I'm looking at these two rounds- which do you prefer and why? I'm in the rockies, and this will be in a rifle used for elk and mule deer. I know I'll be well suited with either, and will some day no doubt have both, but for now I'm experienceing the "which one" debate in my head I'm sure you are all familiar with. ;)

Thanks,

Erik

Either is plenty, but the .300 Winchester is a better for long ranges. I have never been in that country, but I understand there is often an opportunity for a long range shot (500 yards or more), and for that the .300 would be better.

Jim

I should note that I am not one for excessively long shots. If I cannot get closer, then there must be a major obstacle. That being the case, I don't want to have to pack it out- darn elk are on the heavy side. :)

Erik

Erik; I'm new to rifles and hunting but I did alot of research before I bought a savage 30-06. Ammo-besides 30-30 It's the least expensive if that's a concern. Versitle-varmit weights all the way up to 220 grain bullets. I just got some redone military stuff for $6.99 a box, fun plinkin' ammo. With the new magnum stuff on the market the 30-06 equals 300 mag performance anyway. If your not going to need the extra distance I'd go with 30-06. Good Luck, j.s.

I hunt in the rockies and have been very happy with with my 30-06. In my opinion the reason you would want a .300 WM is for the increased range and planned on takeing longer shots. Even so I think anyone who takes a 500 yard shot at an elk with either caliber is crazy. That is a really long shot for field conditions and I think I would only try it if I was trying to stop a wounded animal.