2nd Amendment

Thermodyne

Now that the US High court has ruled that the second amendment is a personal civil right, How do states like Maryland get away with using misdemeanors to remove peoples rights? The MD law basically states that the legislature has decided that for the purpose of firearms purchases, any crime carrying the possibility of a 2 year sentence shall be considered a felony. I'm no lawyer, but that sure smells bad to me.

Basically you could have your 2 amendment right removed for driving 40 over the speed limit, or allowing your child to ride a motorbike without a helmet, even if you were not present at the time. Almost all misdemeanors have at least the possibility of a 2 year sentence. If that is allowed to stand, what's to prevent them from using it to limit free speech, right of peaceful assembly or right to vote?

That is actually an improvement over Federal law if true. Under Federal law you are prohibited if:

"convicted in any court of, a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year"

Note you don't have to be actually sentenced to one year, just convicted of a crime that could be punishable by more than a year.

As far as misdemeanors go, I haven't looked at the state code; but I've yet to read a state code where a misdemeanor crime was punnishable by 2 years imprisonment - especially for traffic offenses. Can you give me a link showing an example of this in your state penal code?

That is actually an improvement over Federal law if true. Under Federal law you are prohibited if:

"convicted in any court of, a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year"

Note you don't have to be actually sentenced to one year, just convicted of a crime that could be punishable by more than a year.