.223 on deer?

trigger45,
Has been heavily discussed over on www.ar15.com with many shall we say "interesting" comments. It can be done BUT - basically it boils down to 2 points:
1 is it legal in your state?
2 are you confident enough in your shooting skill (and know both your own and the round's limits) to use what most consider a varmint caliber on an animal that can run very far when lethally hit with a much larger more powerful round?
B

Head shot.

Oh, my brother did shoot one frontally with a Barnes X bullet. It went into the chest, travelled through the guts and came to rest near the backsides. The deer (albiet a small one) dropped like a rock. The rifle used was a Remington 700 Varminter in .223 Remington. Distance was about 75 yards.

------------------
Vigilantibus et non dormientibus jura subveniunt

What about using 7.62? I'm going deer hunting for the first time this year and thought about using my SKS. Or would it just be wiser to pull out the old 870? I'm really new at hunting and I get so many conflicting opinions at the range.

Accuracy is by far the most important point. If you get buck fever, uses a bigger gun. You may pass up many shots waiting for one that is ....

1. 100 Meters or less (125 tops)
2. Possibly hand loaded (some big boat tails will not fit the mags) as you should use the largest grain your twist will allow.
3. Placement, placement, placement. If exist buck fever goto 30.06.

:END

damiano:

Your SKS in 7.62x39 will be OK with soft points for deer. If the weapon is not scoped, I'd recommend keeping your shots under 100 yds.

If scoped (and not hunting in thick cover) you can go for a longer shot, but carefully.
The SKS, a fine mass-produced battle rifle, is not going to be exceptionally accurate at longer ranges, IMHO.

Good luck...
Mike