.22 target rifle sight upgrade - scope or peep sight?

dakota.potts

I recently went out shooting with a friend of mine who spent 5 years shooting on an olympic style small bore team. We were surprised when we opened up our rifle cases to find that we both had a CZ 452. I have a decent general use scope on mine (Nikon P-22) and he used the stock iron sights on his. I have see through scope rings on mine so I can use my iron sights on certain settings and found that I can group better than I thought with iron sights, although the current set up is not especially friendly towards doing so.

I've been invited to an informal .22 shoot involving 3 positions at 50 yards which happens every month. I don't plan to dive headlong into competition, but I am a gunsmithing student and I've been looking for extracurricular projects and now I'm flirting with the idea of taking my relatively stock CZ to a higher "level" target rifle including upgrading the stock, trigger, etc.

But if I'm investing money in an upgrade, I'm torn between the type of optic I want. I do like a good scope and believe that I will ultimately get better groups with it, but it's the more expensive route and is likely to add more weight. There is a certain skillful element I like to iron sight shooting, but I accept the limitations of my eye sight (which is frankly not great) and I'm not sure I will be able to produce the same groups. Some type of spotting optic will likely be necessary.

What are your opinions if I decide to go through with the project?

If your eyes are not so good now they aren't going to get better.

Pretty much my position though I could shoot the daylights out of iron sites (included 22 rifle3 competition type) at one time.

I would invest in a good scope. Leopold makes a 2-7 Rimfire and I believe Redfield has a duplicate (not sure its as nice but their optics are good)