22 pistol for future competition

longhollow

Inactive
Hi Folks,

Like the rest of you I'm getting nailed by the higher cost of ammo.

Considering shooting more .22 and getting into some of the available pistol competitions.

What are most of the shooters using nowadays in competitions like Steel Challenge?

Suggested barrel length?

Thanks!

I'm not familiar with that style of match. I'd be inclined to just show up to one and ask questions there (or google up some pictures of a match).

for shooting steel..most will do well..many people choose guns that are similar to their main gun.

so you will see STI/SV/1911 guns with Marvel uppers or the new Tactical Solutions upper.

also will see Ruger 22/45 with a Tactical Solutions upper or Browning Buckmarks with Tactical Solutions barrel.

locally see a lot of Marvels and Glock with the Advantage arms upper .

I just started playing with a CZ Kadet. its a bit heavier, but so far has been accurate for action games and reliable.
I've converted to a single action trigger and 2# trigger job. also rib has been drilled for a scope rail, so I may play with a dot later on.

_kadet00A0049.jpg

I use a model 41 S&W but I see a lot of the conversion kits and a few Rugers wearing tactical solutions aftermarket barrels. I like my 41 since it's very accurate out of the box but you could do well with any 22 that is reliable and accurate. Buckmarks can fit the bill as well.. I shot a slab side Buck Mark for a while but sold it when I picked up the model 41.

Its been a while since I shot Steel Challenge, but I shot a Ruger MKII. I would think about any will work, shoot what you got.

Get enough mags so you don't have to reload on the line. If I remember right it was the best four out of five strings, so six mags or more would be nice.

Steel Challange 22's