22 Mag on Coyote?

Keno311

I'm new to coyote hunting. I went for the first time last week and realized real quickly that my brand new Ruger m77 varmint in 25-06 is way too heavy to be hauling around in these wv mountains. Unless i'm on a former mine sight (which I will use the 25-06 for) my maximum range will be right around 100 yds. I'm thinking about getting a lightweight 22 mag for when I'm hunting in the mountains. How do you experienced coyote hunters feel about using a 22 mag? Thanks

I'm not a coyote hunter but I have seen several deer taken with winchester semi-jacketed HPs. Before folks start to jump my case I'm not advocating such practices but it can be done. They ones I seen were all head shots and one neck shot. It comes down to shooter's ability.

I'd prefer a 243 (or similar varmint caliber) in a light break action H&R, rossi, or NEF personally.

I think a 22mag will work, but you will limit your shots (esp long shots).

Know your trajectory first and humane shot next.

Generally, the .22 mag is not known for excellent accuracy (tight groups). I don't know if it's the rifles or the ammo. I had a Marlin bolt action and was rather disappointed.

If you can get a first shot from a cold barrel to always hit the desired point of aim, great. With that particular cartridge, I'd restrict myself to head shots, and ranges probably no more than 50 to 75 yards...

Art