1st Time Shootin' a .308

garyo

WOW a real neat cartridge. I could not believe how accurately I could shoot it! I have very little center fire rifle experience. The only other rifle I've had any experience with is the M16 courtesy the USMC. I also shot my friends AR15 and still did not like it AND it did not have anything to do with the malfunctions. The .308 was a Remington 700 bolt w/18" barrel. After I fired about 5 rounds I was real comfortable with it. Sooo I guess I will look for .308 at the next Gun Show around 1st week of May for us NCers.
Thanks all for your advice and help! I'll let you know what I get.

------------------
Take Care

Yeah, consider going with the FAL. not bolt-action accuracy, but still super accurate and fun as heck. one mean weapon.

The rifle you're speaking of, is a Remington Model "Seven" carbine.........

I have one too, and love it!

Here's a pic of mine......
View

If you can find a good used Remington 788 in .308 I highly recommend it as an option. Very accurate rifles. I have a 788 .308 Carbine with the 16.5" barrel and I love it!

------------------
R6...aka...Chris

Garyo,
The 308 is my favorite caliber, comes from being in the military in the 60's.

For "pure accuracy" I shoot a Remington 700 with a 26" heavy barrel. It will cut a dime at 100yards with 165 to 168 gr. BT bullets. I topped this with a Leupold 3.5x10 VXIII.

For field use (hunting, etc) I have chosen a Winchester XTR Featherweight, only 6.5lbs! Plenty good enough on the accuracy, 1.5" 5 shot groups at 100 yards.
But the real story is you can carry it all day and not feel like you had a truck axle on your sholder the next morning. Keeping the weight in mind, this is topped with a Leupold 1.5x5 VXIII.

You should have many great years togeather with this caliber. I mean, soft recoil, super accuracy, plenty of knock down power, cheep practice ammo is abundant, easy to reload, etc., etc. What else could a person want?
$0.02 k

Hi, Garyo,