1970 .284 Ruger M77 Tang-Flat Bolt....Expert Knowledge Wanted

My wife's granddaddy gave me one of these. I have been told many things about them. I would like to get some true expert advise to answer some of the truths\myths I have been told. Thanks for your help.

Been told these things.

1. Very Very small run of these by Ruger - less than a 1,000 in 1970??
2. Very accurate and a wanted gun by hand loaders.
3. Tang Saftey and Flat Bolt makes it even more rare.
4. Heard values from $600 to $1,500.
5. Ruger screwed the pooch on the serial numbers??

Thanks for any help on these. If you have knowledge of the performance I would love to know the details.

I'm not an expert, but am curious what your ser# is? I have (I believe a first year) M77 in .243, no flat bolt. Ser # is 1703. No prefix.

I can't answer most of your questions but i can tell you the 284 winchester is one of the best deer cartridges out there, too bad it fell in popularity.

1. Very Very small run of these by Ruger - less than a 1,000 in 1970??
2. Very accurate and a wanted gun by hand loaders.
3. Tang Saftey and Flat Bolt makes it even more rare.
4. Heard values from $600 to $1,500.
5. Ruger screwed the pooch on the serial numbers??
1. The .284 Win was a standard chambering in Ruger 77s for many years. Flat bolt handle was standard until 1970.
2. Very accurate? Pre-1990 Rugers seemed to be hit or miss as far as accuracy goes, but the 284 does have a "cult" following among handloaders, hunters, odd caliber lovers, etc.
3. All Ruger M77s made from 1964 to 1969 had tang safeties and flat bolts. From 1970 on, the bolt handle was changed to the more conventional, rounder bolt handle.
4. In good condition (condition really is everything), your Ruger M77 is worth between $500 to 800, with a premium for the 284 chambering, so yes, it is realistically worth between $600-1000 to the right person.
5. Don't know what to say on the serial numbers unless you can be more specific.