1911 upgrades? what do you consider a must?

MusHraeddur

i'm new to the 1911 world. i was wondering what your opinions of what you feel is a "must" upgrade to any 1911. i realize that opinions will vary, but i figure this will help introduce me to what's out there. thanks in advance for your replies

Hello. Over the years, I've come to think that less is more, so to speak. What I "must have":

1. Reliability
2. High Visibility Sights that are "on."
3. Trigger-pull that's clean and if not 4.5 lbs or a bit less, at least clean.
4. Wide, upturned grip safety as I get eatten alive by the old grip safety.

There are other things that I like, but for me, the above 4 are what I "must" have on the 1911 platform.

Best.

Hi, Mr. Camp hit the nail on the head. I agree, those four are a "must". I also offer, replace the recoil spring and firing pin spring with a heavy duty set. About 18 to 18 1/2 lbs should do it. This will help save the pistol frame from recoil damage.
Take care,
Clem

Most 1911s are reliable right out of the box, so no reliability work is usually necessary.
If the gun didn't come with high-profile sights, I would recommend getting them.
Other mods are dependant on the size of your hands and length of your fingers. Me, I need a beavertail grip safety and the concomittant commander hammer to avoid hammer bite. I also prefer a straight mainspring housing for the gun to point well for me. I like having a slightly extended thumb safety to make positive safety placement easier.
Aside from that, can't think of anything else.

Reliable magazine(s). Without them, you have a single shot pistol.

first VACop, a reliable Colt is an oxymoron.

THings needed on a 1911; Heinie or Novak Nights Sights
Speed bump beavertail
Extended Thumb safety
Dehorned-NO, None, Zilch shrap corners/edges; they are hell on the hands doing clearing drills and on holsters
Good magazines, not gun show specials
1911 that goes bang all the time