1911 technique

aligtr

Inactive
I'm a relative newbie to shooting..about 6 months(100 rnds a week). I've been through a local CCW 10hr course taught by a certified NRA instructor. I have a few questions that
some of you more experience guys probably have opinions on:
On drawing from stong side holster:
1) Which hand do you release the thumb safety with? I find it easier to use the my right thumb even though it thows my grip off for a
second. I find myself missing the release every now and then when I use my left hand, although it is a lot smoother..no readjusting grip.
2) On a reload do most of you just thumb the
slide release. or do you rack the slide??
I've had trouble with feeding the first round
when I just thumb the release..but I find it alot easier.

Just want to get a feel for what others do.
Please don't respond with get more training. I plan on it but advanced courses don't happen every weekend.

Hello Aligtr-Sounds like you are doing the right thing -practice.
Assuming you are right handed, you should sweep the safety off with your right thumb. If you are having trouble hitting it consistently, maybe you could consider an extended safety. But get one of the "tactical" ones, as they make some that are designed for competition, and are entirely too large for carry. I have an Ed Brown tactical on my Commander, and it has been very satisfactory. You shouldn't have to change your grip to hit the safety.What type of 1911 do you have? Do you have small hands?
As far as the reload, this is very debatable. I prefer to use the slide release, but this is personal preferance. But if your gun jams when you thumb the slide release, there is a problem with the gun or magazine, and you should have it taken care of.
Hope this helps....best of luck.

[This message has been edited by lowrider (edited January 07, 2000).]

I trip the thumb safety with my strong (right) hand thumb as a natural part of the draw, tripping it just as I get on target.