1911 Parts Question

Banzai

I'm looking at replacing some things on my gun with some Wilson parts that I like. Can things like an aftermarket pre prepped hammer and/or sear be dropped into my Springfield 1911A1 without any special fitting? How about a mainspring housing?

What does that little set screw in a trigger do for you and why/when would you need one? How do you set it?

Are thumb safeties interchangeable (drop in)? What do I need to know special about ambi safeties? How do they hold together?

Is a one piece full legnth guide rod better than a two piece? How do you get it out?

Anything else that I should know, and any books (ones still in print) that I should be looking for/at?

Thanks major amounts. I'm new to the 1911 thing, and I love how a basic gun can be customized with off the shelf parts and be super tuned to each shooter! Can't do that with a Glock/Sig/Ruger/Etc.!!!!

Tom

------------------
A "Miss" is the ultimate overpenetration!
You can never be too rich, too skinny, or too well armed!

Tom,

I'll speak of the modifications that I have done and had done.

Before buying ANY parts pick up either an Ed Brown bench reference manual or Jerry Kuhnhausen's manuals. You Will See This Again Later.

I haven't used any drop in or pre prepped parts. But with the Springfield I have a dramatic increase in trigger smoothness can be attained by polishing the mating surfaces of the hammer and sear. DO NOT change any angles just polish to remove any roughness on the parts. (Manual will show this).