165 gameking on 200+ lb critters

mnhunter3030

Hi guys,

Ive been working with my 3006 bar the last couple of days. Been putting corelokts and Gamekings through it @ 100 the gamekings are producing smaller groups than the Corelokts.

i have no background with the sierras and wondered how they work for class 2 game i.e. deer, sheep, caribou, black bear in timbered areas where shots are close inside 100 yards? In emailing sierra i recieved this response from the technician; what has your experience been with these bullets?

"Actually, you should have a very good combination to work with because it does have a tough jacket. Even if you can get the same velocity the factory said, it is still at the lower end of what this bullet was built for. You should be able to drive it in deep and get very good expansion even with odd angle shots. A test we did several years ago justified this bullet against bonded bullets of the same or heavier weight and it showed 18 ½” of penetration with a 95% retained weight into calibrated ordnance gelatin. Honestly, I’ve never been able to catch one in all the whitetails I’ve shot with it out of my 30-06 but I’ve never personally used it on bears. Even though, I wouldn’t hesitate to use it."

Philip Mahin
Ballistic Technician

thanks for your replies
happy hunting and shoot strait

Judging from sierras response I'm assuming you are asking about the 165 gr hpbt gameking. If that's the case then the tech's reply is spot on. That bullet is devastating inside of 200 yards.

I killed 3 deer with it this past year. The first two were 110ish pound does ranged about 50 yards and 125 yards. Both were shot behind the shoulder, both exits were about the size of a half dollar, both deer were DRT. The third was a 170ish pound buck shot in a thicket at less then 40 yards. The bullet shattered both front shoulders with an exit about the size of a quarter.